The Six Perfections

The Pali word for perfection is Parami, which means “gone beyond.” The Six Paramis are the practices of bodhisattvas, individuals who vow to let go of self-clinging; and focus on the altruistic intentions to act in ways that benefit all beings.

The six perfections are: Generosity (dana), Morality (sila), Patience (khanti), Energy (virya), Concentration (jhana), and Wisdom (panna).

Each perfection is immeasurably beneficial and arises from an awakened heart-mind (bodhichitta). Through meditation and mindful living, everyone can cultivate, realize, and promote the six perfections within themselves and the world.

Explore Lessons

The Six Perfections

Six Perfections (Part 1)

Six Perfections: Sila - Part 2