Please enable javascript in your browser to view this site!

Rooted In Mindfulness

An Overview of The

Essential Dhamma

What Is The Essential Dhamma?

Rooted In Mindfulness is a Community Insight Meditation Center committed to sharing the essence of Buddhist wisdom, i.e. The Essential Dhamma, in ways that are universal, relevant, informed by modern science, free of dogma, and appropriate for everyone.

What though, is The Essential Dhamma?

The Essential Dhamma are regarded to be the basic points that unify the diverse Buddhist traditions.


The Dhamma is universally relevant and is available to everyone and is expressed differently depending on individual countries, cultures, social groups which have different ways of life, practices, rites and rituals, ceremonies, customs and habits, etc. These external forms and expressions should not be confused with the essence of Universal Dhamma.

  • The ‘Buddha,' which means ‘one who is awake’ was a human being who discovered taught others the way of awakening (Dhamma) in a chain of teachings that continue to the present day.
  • The Three Refuges: Buddha-Nature, Dhamma, and Sangha.
  • Great Compassion (karuna) and Great Wisdom (panna) are at the heart of an intentional life aimed at developing compassion for all living beings without discrimination and to work for their good, happiness, peace, and well-being; and to develop wisdom leading to awakening.
  • Four Noble Truths, namely duḥkha, the arising of duḥkha, the cessation of duḥkha, and the path leading to the cessation of duḥkha; ethical conduct (sila), mental discipline (samadhi) and wisdom (panna).
  • The universal law of cause and effect; dependent origination, or dependent arising (paṭiccasamuppada). And accordingly, everything is relative, interdependent and interrelated and nothing is absolute, permanent and everlasting in this universe.
  • All conditioned things (samkhara) are impermanent (anicca) and imperfect and unsatisfactory (dukkha), and all conditioned and unconditioned things (dhamma) are not-self (anatta).
  • There are Thirty-seven Qualities Conducive to Awakening as different aspects of the Path taught by the Buddha leading to Awakening, namely: the Four Foundations of Mindfulness, Four Right Efforts, Four Bases, Five Faculties, Five Powers, Seven Factors of Enlightenment, and the Eight-fold Noble Path.