4 Foundations

The Satipatthana Sutta was the Buddha’s discourse on the four foundations of mindfulness, which he called the direct path to liberation and the way to establish mindfulness. Those four foundations are: 

  1. Mindfulness of the body (kaya)
  2. Mindfulness of felling (vedana) - pleasant, unpleasant, neutral; initial reactions to sensory input
  3. Mindfulness of the mind/consciousness (citta), of the mind-states of greed, aversion, delusion and their opposites.
  4. Mindfulness of the objects-mental events (dharmas) including the categories of dhammas: 5 hindrances, 5 aggregates, 6 sense bases, 7 factors of enlightenment, 4 Noble Truths