Note: This glossary is still under development .
< Back to Glossary


liberation, freedom, quenching
Definition :

Awakening (Nibbana) is the goal of the Buddhist Eightfold Path and marks the release from worldly suffering. Nibanna has commonly been interpreted as the extinction of the "three fires" or "three poisons"; Greed/Clinging (Raga), Aversion/Hatred (Dvesha), and Ignorance/Delusion (Moha).

Would you like to contribute to this term?

Excellent, and thank you! You can help by sharing a source, teaching, inspirational quote, or anything else related to this glossary term. Your contribution will be considered as we add more content to the Glossary of Terms and/or the Learning and Practice Library.

Note: Because you are logged in, your name and email will be subitted with this form.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

More About



This section allow for the possibility of a real-life example of the term. The intention of this section is to bring the term from a formal explanation and into the light of everyday living. If the example is not set, this field will be hidden.