< Back to Glossary

Four Noble Truths

Cattāri ariyasaccāni
Cattāri ariyasaccāni
Definition :

"Four Noble Truths" (Cattāri Ariyasaccāni): The Four Noble Truths are the foundation of Buddhism. They are: the truth of suffering (dukkha), the truth of the cause of suffering (samudaya), the truth of the cessation of suffering (nirodha), and the truth of the path leading to the cessation of suffering (magga). The Four Noble Truths provide a framework for understanding the human condition and the path to spiritual liberation. The first noble truth acknowledges that suffering exists, the second noble truth explains the cause of suffering, the third noble truth explains that suffering can be overcome, and the fourth noble truth explains the path to the cessation of suffering, which is the Eightfold Path. Understanding and applying the Four Noble Truths in one's life can lead to the attainment of inner peace and happiness.

More About

Four Noble Truths


This section allow for the possibility of a real-life example of the term. The intention of this section is to bring the term from a formal explanation and into the light of everyday living. If the example is not set, this field will be hidden.